A “Freshii” Approach to Building A Brand

Freshii

I love Freshii. The food is always good, fast, and yes…fresh. But I also love what they’re doing in Social Media. Using Twitter, Foursquare, and an iPhone app they are building a fantastic brand and a great consumer experience. They’re also a pioneer in the space. Let me share a couple examples.

Before I begin, I must disclose the following: I am related to Matthew Corrin, the Founder & CEO of Freshii. However, I am writing this post on my own volition and have in no way been asked or paid to do so. In fact, I don’t even get free food or discounts when I eat there.

As a frequent Freshii visitor, I follow them on Twitter and always check-in on Foursquare. Via their handle – @freshii – they tweet time-sensitive deals, new location announcements, etc. – just like your typical newbie, corporate Twitter user. But they do much more. They manage and build customer relationships.

A little while back they released an iPhone app that allows you to place an order right from your phone. So naturally, I tried it. It worked well, and the interface is smooth, but the in-store process wasn’t great. I ordered and let them know (via the app) that I’d be there in 10 minutes. However when I arrived, the staff were not even aware of the app or how it worked. So I placed my order manually – and Tweeted about my experience via Foursquare.

Later that afternoon I received an email from Matthew – the founder. I shared my concerns and he promised to get back to me, which he did. The process has since been resolved and the app is working well. (More discussion on this app and how it’s a pionneer in mobile ordering will come in a later post.)

Now of course, not everyone has the luxury of knowing the owner and having direct access. So please consider the following example (and it’s just one of many). The point is not that Matthew contacted me; it’s that Freshii is listening and actively engaging with consumers via Social Media.

Yup, a disgruntled customer Tweeted about her poor experience. We’ve seen this many times before – I don’t need to list the examples. But Freshii’s approach is textbook perfect.

They respond to the user directly, apologize, and offer to resolve the issue by taking it offline. This displays they value each individual consumer, humanizes the brand, and provides an opportunity to connect and resolve the issue in a more private setting. Customers appreciate it and are more likely to have positive things to say about the brand as a result.

They are also using Twitter and Foursquare together, to reward loyalty. Check out this Tweet:

Being the Mayor of one of their locations, I replied via DM and was provided with a password for a free lunch. Easy! And of course, I’m more likely to come back.

Obviously work like this requires a Community Manager but regardless, Freshii is a leading example of a retailer taking the right approach to building their brand in Social Media. They may not be perfect, but they are humanizing the brand. And their fans are unbelievably passionate.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment